FFWD Provencal Olive Fougasse

Salt and bread, what could be better?  Nothing, I tell you. This story, while a love one, is also one that could only end badly,  i.e. with me only being able to wear yoga pants in public.  Bread and I have a bit of a love/hate thing going on.  I love the way I feel so “European” while mixing it up, letting it rise and best of all, inhaling it after it comes out of the oven but then the hate part starts. Why couldn’t I stop after one or two pieces?  Did I really need to sneak back into the kitchen at 9 pm and eat more? Seriously people, all things in moderation.

I have made fougasse before and loved it each and every time so I was quite intrigued by this new (and improved version) with rosemary, lemon zest and OLIVES!  It mixed up lickety split in my KA standing mixer.  The “wetness” that the recipe mentioned was a bit worrisome, as the other fougasse recipe I use calls for a great deal more flour but I decided to trust the recipe.  A punch down an hour and a half later, into the fridge and on with the day.

Cut to a  day later and Grandma Mary is here (due to a funeral). We were laying around looking up recipes so we decided it was a good day for baking and eating bread  (I inherited my addiction honestly).  The dough was shiny and smelled divine.  Roll out, cut slits, let sit and then the final brushing and sprinkling of course sea salt.  Bake for the allotted time and voila, homemade bread!   We couldn’t even wait five minutes to start digging in.  The kids and Bob loved it too.  Now Grandma Mary has to wear HER yoga pants to work too…………

11 thoughts on “FFWD Provencal Olive Fougasse

  1. amanda

    ha! So funny about yoga pants! Your bread looks like it turned out fantastic and well worth being stuck in yoga pants for a few days. 😉

  2. npawisdm

    I wondered how did you survive the other day at school in your jeans. Stay away from the bread section in your cookbook. Try fish again or salad. Or be a good friend and share so others can wear their yoga pants too.

Leave a Reply

