Tuesdays with Dorie Oasis Naan

It’s been a while since I posted for Tuesdays.  I had great intentions of making the pecan sticky buns and my brioche dough was coming along nicely but something terrible happened when I left it in the fridge for two days.  Sigh.  Oasis Naan gives me a chance to jump back on that horse and get riding.

Bread making, especially by hand, is truly one of life’s pleasures.  I first learned how to make bread as a foreign exchange student living in Germany.  My host family signed me up at the local night school to learn to make bread in the hopes that my German would improve.  It did but my bread making skills won out.  I have loved it ever since.

This recipe was easy enough, and the smell of it rising was divine.  I used the kneading step as my weight lifting for the day (note the workout wear).

Maneuvering the breads on and off the baking stone was a bit tough but after I figured out to flour the other sheet I was using more then the sliding went off without a hitch.

I bribed a friend to take Eli to a fishing clinic and Hannah was off with a buddy so I made this one in peace and quiet.  They turned out great and I used them as currency for the bribe so not all that bread stayed in the house.  Fun recipe!

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie Oasis Naan

  1. Ckay

    You were good! I did not knead it by hand all the way through but used my KA.
    Do you think that getting the KA out of the pantry counts as a “weight lifting for the day” as well? 🙂
    We loved them!

  2. Alice

    sharing fresh baked bread is the best! I have friends that fight for that chance! … no kidding… i can’t post about it on FB or talk about it or we wind up with surprise visitors or “threatening” comments on FB… LOL!!

Leave a Reply

