Tuesdays with Dorie – Madeleines

Trying to jump back in with this group as well as with my French Fridays group, so here I am!!  The potato loaves from earlier this month were a huge hit at our house, just never got the opportunity to blog that whole gig.  Here is a lovely photo of them.  One issue/question – did anyone else notice that theirs didn’t rise a whole lot?  I mean, I know the recipe said they wouldn’t but the finished product still seemed a bit dense.

Image

Anyhoo, this week’s recipe was Madeleines.  Personally I wasn’t sure what all the fuss was about, I am not a big fan of sweets, give me glass of wine and a piece of cheese any day but Miss Hannah (thinking ahead to the Birthday party in June) loves this kind of stuff so let’s give it a whirl.  I stopped in at Bekah Kate’s for the pan (thanks Maggie).  How pretty!!  Maybe this will be a sweet I can get on board with, I do love a pretty dish/baking thingy….

The kitchen is a mess already as Eli has decided to paint Grandma Mary a picture for her Birthday which is Saturday (she’ll be 39 as I have already laid claims on the age 29).  Here is a pic of my Eli hard at work.

Eli

 

Isn’t he just delicious?  Too much!

I read over some of the skuttle on the site and decided to go with Dorie’s French Fridays version. I have had a bit of bad luck with Baking with Julia and I know that Dorie worked on that book as well but sometimes  I find the recipes lacking in details.  Other times they are overloaded with dos and don’ts.  Especially worrisome to me was the “discussion” over whether the batter should be chilled before baking or not.  Again, I deferred to French Fridays p. 409  – Bonne Idee – Classic Madeleines.  Chill the batter in the pan, people, chill it.  Don’t forget to butter and flour the mold first either.  The classic madeleine recipe called for lemon zest and the rest of the usual suspects (i.e. butter and eggs, guess the pants won’t be fitting any better this week either).

In the fridge for three hours or so, then pop them in the oven  and voila!  They were perfect!  So good in fact that I whipped up a second batch today for the Reach Out and Read Luncheon I hosted. We are trying to get this pretty amazing project off the ground here in Reedsburg.  The ladies at the luncheon concurred, perfection!! And so, so cute.

madeleine

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie – Madeleines

  1. TheKitchenLioness

    Lovely looking madeleines and rustic potato loaves! It sounds like you (and the ladies) reallly enjoyed the madeleine recipe. So nice that you found the time to join the TwD group as well again.
    Have a nice Wednesday! Noch einen schönen Mittwoch!

  2. Elaine

    Your madeleines turned out perfectly! I also prefer Dorie’s over this recipe, but was glad that I had more success making the genoise batter this time. Your rustic potato loaves also look great. Mine didn’t rise that mich either.

Leave a Reply

